Poem 29

Challenge: include an action and an object in every line. Don’t worry about making sense.

April is limping to an end
leaving in its wake piles of mutilated words, cramped lines and forced rhymes
inspiration dries up
my eyes itch
I hack with a spring cold.

Air quality in our Happy Valley has received an F.
We get the ozone from Manhattan
breathe it as we inhale the sweet scent of lilacs.
We try to take care of ourselves
eat kale and tempeh
march against Monsanto
but bad air buoys over the boundaries
invisibly rasping through our bucolic valley.

The newspaper advises
confining exercise to early or late day
stay indoors and breathe shallowly.
Pollen colors the air yellow-green
my eyes dribble
my nose leaks
I make poems out of snotty tissues
I fulfill the challenge of April
Poetry Month has drained my energy
I smash poetic form just one more day.

About aliceinbloggingland

I am starting a blog in order to establish a regular writing habit, with readers. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

