Poem on April Fool’s Day, but true

Inspired by my poet friend Laurie MacDiarmid and in honor of Poetry Month, I am going to try to write a poem a day this April.  Here is my first.

I don’t write poetry.

It’s 9:51 pm and my 12 almost 13 year old is still up, watching Full House.

I am going to try to write a poem every day in honor of poetry month.

I am in my chair, slung back.

My classes are planned for tomorrow.

I am trying to clear the detritus from my mind.

I think of going off line.  But I don’t.

The irresistible pull of other people’s minutiae, and the occasional news of the death of someone I once knew but hardly remember.

Facebook.

At least I don’t tweet.

For Easter I recycled old bunnies and ducks under new Peeps and the big surprise, Peeps SOCKS.  And the promise of 50% off candy the next day.  The girls did not appreciate my cleverness.  Turns out I had recycled the same bunny last year.

Poetry might just be a series of well crafted Facebook posts.  I can do that.

Thanks Laurie.

tulips

About aliceinbloggingland

I am starting a blog in order to establish a regular writing habit, with readers. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in happiness, motherhood, parenting, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem on April Fool’s Day, but true

  1. Maureen Fielding says:

    Allie, I enjoyed your poem and the November entry that I just read. So busy these days with the kids, etc. I’m rooting for you to accomplish the task you’ve set for yourself. We all know that we will write more if we set a goal. I’m feeling inspired now!

    • Thanks Maureen! I think of you and Josna and Renee and Pennie and all our poco folks a lot this semester as I teach Post-Colonial Literature. I find that field endlessly fascinating. I love your FB posts with your wonderful boys!

Leave a Reply

